Nevada Housing Division Homebuyer Program offers low- and moderate- income
homebuyers a fixed interest rate 30-year loan with additional assistance
available for down payment and closing costs.
Mortgage Credit Certificate (MCC) program provides both first-time home buyers
and qualified veterans a federal income tax of up to 30% of the interest paid
on a mortgage loan each year. The Nevada Housing Division provides the
MCC benefit statewide.
The Home Means Nevada Home Retention Program is designed to assist individuals and families at risk of losing their homes. The program will purchase a pool of underwater, delinquent Nevada mortgages at a discount using funds from federal sources and the national mortgage settlement agreement. Working with the homeowner, the program will aim to refinance the loan at current market value, eliminating the underwater portion and giving the homeowner an opportunity to start building equity. If a homeowner is unable or unwilling to participate in the refinance, transition assistance will be provided. The home will be resold to eligible owner-occupants. This program is not open to applications. Homeowners will be notified if their loan has been purchased by the program.
Nevada was selected to be one of the first states' to receive fund from the U.S. Treasury's "Hardest Hit Fund." The State of Nevada was awarded more than $150 million in funds available to assist qualified homeowners.
Home Again is a new program that makes it easier for homeowners in
Nevada to determine what state or federal assistance may be available to
them with a single “one-stop” free resource. Initiated by Nevada Attorney General (AG) Catherine Cortez Masto, the
“Home Again Nevada Homeowner Relief Program” is designed for:
- Homeowners seeking loan modification
- Borrowers who are current, but “underwater”
- Those who have lost their homes to foreclosure
- Households working toward homeownership
The no-fee service is available to all Nevadans simply by calling
toll free 1-855-HLP-4-NEV (1-855-457-4638) with both English and
Spanish-speaking assistance available. The call center is open 7:00
a.m. – 7:00 p.m. Monday through Friday.
Under Nevada law, the State of Nevada Foreclosure Mediation Program (FMP) is open to homeowners of owner-occupied houses who receive a foreclosure notice, formally titled Notice of Default (or Breach) and Election to Sell. Homeowners of owner-occupied houses have 30 days after being served with a foreclosure notice to elect to participate in mediation.
More than a million homeowners have been helped by MHA programs.
Homeowners in MHA modifications (HAMP) are typically saving more than
$500 each month. And now, there are new opportunities for help.