Carson City, NV - April 01, 2013
Commissioner Thoran Towler today released the annual bulletins for Nevada’s
minimum wage and daily overtime requirements that will take effect this
summer. The rates for the upcoming year
will remain unchanged from last year.
minimum wage for employees who receive qualified health benefits from their
employers will remain at $7.25 per hour and the minimum wage for employees who
do not receive health benefits will remain at $8.25 per hour.
2006 Minimum Wage Amendment to the Nevada Constitution requires minimum wage to
be recalculated each year. The rates are adjusted annually by comparing the
increases in the federal minimum wage over $5.15 per hour, or, if greater, by
the cumulative increase in the cost of living. “While
the cost of living adjustment for this year increased over last year, it is
still less than the $2.10 increase in the federal minimum wage that went into
effect in 2009,” said Towler.
Nevada employers will not see an increase in the threshold for daily overtime.
Nevada is one of a few states with a daily overtime requirement in addition to
the more familiar requirement to pay overtime for more than 40 hours in a
workweek. “Nevada’s daily overtime
requirement is tied to the minimum wage,” Towler said, “As the minimum wage goes up, so does the
daily overtime requirement. Since the
minimum wage is not increasing this year, the daily overtime will remain the
same as well.”
who receive qualified health benefits from their employers and earn less than
$10.875 per hour and employees earning less than
$12.375 per hour who do not receive
qualified health benefits must be paid overtime whenever they work more than 8
hours in a 24-hour period. These changes
do not affect employees who are exempt from overtime under Nevada state law.
information regarding the minimum wage and daily overtime is available through
the Labor Commissioner’s office: (702)
486-2650 in Southern Nevada; or (775) 687-4850 in Northern Nevada. The Annual Bulletins containing the rates are
available on-line through the Labor Commissioner’s website, http://www.laborcommissioner.com
or in hard copy form by request to the Labor Commissioner’s office.
About the Office of the Labor Commissioner
The Office of the Labor Commissioner is a
division of the Department of Business and Industry. The Labor Commissioner
strives to ensure that all workers are treated fairly under the law by
investigating complaints of non-payment of wages, State minimum wage, overtime,
and prevailing wage disputes. The office also monitors youth employment
standards, including work hours and safe, non-hazardous working conditions.