Carson City, NV - April 01, 2014
Nevada Labor Commissioner Thoran Towler today
released the annual bulletins for Nevada’s minimum wage and daily overtime
requirements that will take effect this summer.
The rates for the upcoming year will remain unchanged from last year.
The minimum wage for employees who receive qualified
health benefits from their employers will remain at $7.25 per hour and the
minimum wage for employees who do not receive health benefits will remain at
$8.25 per hour.
The 2006 Minimum Wage Amendment to the Nevada
Constitution requires the minimum wage to be recalculated each year. The rates are adjusted annually by comparing
the amount of increases in the federal minimum wage over $5.15 per hour, or, if
greater, by the cumulative increase in the cost of living.
“While the cost
of living adjustment for this year increased over last year, it is still less
than the $2.10 increase in the federal minimum wage that went into effect in
2009,” said CommissionerTowler.
Likewise, Nevada employers will not see an increase
in the threshold for daily overtime. Nevada is one of a few states with a daily
overtime requirement in addition to the more familiar requirement to pay
overtime for more than 40 hours in a workweek. “Nevada’s daily overtime requirement is tied to the minimum wage,”
Towler said, “As the minimum wage goes
up, so does the daily overtime requirement.
Since the minimum wage is not increasing this year, the daily overtime
will remain the same as well.”
Employees who receive qualified health benefits from
their employer and earn less than $10.875 per hour, and employees earning less
than $12.375 per hour who do not
receive qualified health benefits, must be paid overtime whenever they work
more than 8 hours in a 24-hour period.
These changes do not affect employees who are exempt from overtime under
Nevada state law.
More information regarding the minimum wage and
daily overtime is available through the Labor Commissioner’s office: (702) 486-2650, Las Vegas; (775) 687-4850,
Carson City. The Annual Bulletins
containing the rates are available on-line through the Labor Commissioner’s
or in hard copy form by request to the Labor Commissioner’s office.
About the Office of the Labor Commissioner
The Office of the Labor Commissioner is a
division of the Department of Business and Industry. The Labor Commissioner
strives to ensure that all workers are treated fairly under the law by
investigating complaints of non-payment of wages, State minimum wage, overtime,
and prevailing wage disputes. The office also monitors youth employment
standards, including work hours and safe, non-hazardous working conditions.