Carson City, NV - July 28, 2017
The National Association of
Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) launched a new tool called DriveCheck to help
consumers determine if usage-based insurance (UBI) may fit their driving habits.
“Driving habits are changing as
more people use ridesharing and public transportation — and we believe we will
see increased charges with the introduction of self-driving vehicles,” said
Insurance Commissioner Barbara Richardson. “As revolutions in mobility continue
to evolve, new insurance products may be an option for Nevada’s residents whose
driving habits have shifted. As a result, NAIC created DriveCheck to help
consumers understand how UBI works and determine if it’s a good fit for their
Insure U’s new DriveCheck tool takes
you through a few quick questions about driving habits while providing more
information about how UBI works. At the end, you will receive an assessment of
the likelihood that you will benefit from UBI.
Depending on your assessment, you
can then discuss usage-based insurance with your insurance agent. If your
insurance company currently does not offer UBI, chances are they will in the
future. If you are interested in UBI, you can shop around to find an insurance
company who offers UBI and can answer questions and provide a quote.
Usage-based insurance isn’t for
everyone. However, all Nevada drivers should review their auto insurance
policies from time to time. This is an opportune time given the passage of SB
308 which was signed into law. This new law increases the statutorily mandated
minimum motor vehicle liability insurance coverage in Nevada from 15/30/10 to
25/50/20. This new law goes into effect July 1, 2018.
Check out these tips when
re-evaluating insurance needs:
If UBI isn’t for you, talk to your insurer to determine if there are other
cost-saving opportunities. Discounts may be available in Nevada for multiple
vehicles, driver education courses, good student, safety devices, anti-theft
devices, low mileage, good driver/renewal, auto/home package and
If a friend or roommate borrows your car from time to time, talk to your agent
to see if you are covered in case the borrower gets in an accident. Likely,
your friend’s own car insurance may provide limited or no coverages for any
damages to your car or injuries to others.
If you’ve given up driving altogether, there are still risks to consider.
Before accepting a shared ride from a company like Uber or Lyft, know the
extent to which you are protected in the event of an accident.
Most ridesharing companies have liability policies to cover any passenger
injuries. If you are injured while riding, report a claim with the driver’s
insurer and the ridesharing company’s insurer.
If you are considering contracting as an Uber or Lyft driver, make sure you understand
the insurance implications. Review tips from Insure U before you get behind the
For unbiased information and
resources to help you rethink insurance, visit insureuonline.org. For insurance
information specific to where you live, contact the Nevada Division of
Insurance by visiting www.doi.nv.gov.
About the Nevada Division of
The State of Nevada Division of
Insurance, a Division of the Nevada Department of Business and Industry,
protects the rights of Nevada consumers and regulates Nevada’s $14 billion
insurance industry. The Division of Insurance has offices in Carson City and
Las Vegas. In 2016, the Division investigated more than 3,200 consumer
complaints and recovered nearly $5 million on behalf of consumers. For more
information about the Division of Insurance, visit DOI.NV.GOV or download the
Division’s smartphone app NDOI Connect today in the Apple App Store and Google