Nevada’s minimum wage and daily overtime rates will not increase in 2018


Contact

Teri Williams
Public Information Officer
702-486-0407
Carson City, NV - March 30, 2018

The Office of the Labor Commissioner has released the annual bulletins for Nevada’s minimum wage and daily overtime requirements that will take effect July 1, 2018.  The rates for the upcoming year will remain unchanged from last year.

The minimum wage for employees who are offered qualified health benefits from their employers will remain at $7.25 per hour and the minimum wage for employees who are note offered qualified health benefits will remain $8.25 per hour.

The 2006 Minimum Wage Amendment to the Nevada Constitution requires an analysis of the minimum wage each year based on increases in the federal minimum wage or if greater, by the cumulative increase in the cost of living.  The cost of living increase cannot increase by more than 3% each year.  The increase in the federal minimum wage has been greater than any cost of living increase through the 2018 calculation period.

The rate for daily overtime will also remain the same because the minimum wage rate is not changing. Nevada is one of a few states with a daily overtime requirement in addition to the requirement to pay overtime for more than 40 hours in a workweek.

Employees who receive qualified health benefits from their employers and earn less than $10.875 per hour, and employees earning less than $12.375per hour who do not receive qualified health benefits must be paid overtime whenever they work more than 8 hours in a 24-hour period.  Employees that are exempt from overtime under Nevada state law are not subject to these requirements.

The Office of the Labor Commissioner will continue to monitor legislation regarding the minimum wage during the 2019 Legislative Session.

Additional information regarding the minimum wage and daily overtime rates is available from the Office of the Labor Commissioner at: (702) 486-2650, Las Vegas; (775) 684-1890, Carson City.  The Annual Bulletins containing the rates are available from the Office of the Labor Commissioner’s website at www.labor.nv.gov.

About the Office of the Labor Commissioner

The Office of the Labor Commissioner is a division of the Department of Business and Industry. The Labor Commissioner strives to ensure that all workers are treated fairly under the law by investigating complaints of non-payment of wages, State minimum wage, overtime, and prevailing wage disputes. The office also monitors youth employment standards, including work hours and safe, non-hazardous working conditions.

# # #