Division of Industrial Relations announces compliance rates, 3 citations for COVID-19 workplace violations


Contact

Las Vegas, NV - September 21, 2020

Today, the Division of Industrial Relations (DIR) announces that violations of required workplace health and safety measures has resulted in Nevada Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) issuing notices of citation and penalty to the following businesses last week (September 14 through September 18): 

9/16

Stead Food and Liquor

13200 Stead Blvd., Reno

$2,603

Employee was not wearing a face covering

9/18

Gilley's Saloon (referral)

3300 S. Las Vegas Blvd., Las Vegas

$6,073

Bar top was not closed as required, customers were actively consuming food and beverages at the bar

9/18

Viva El Taco Mexican Food (referral)

6775 E. Lake Mead Blvd., Suite B-2, Las Vegas

$3,643

Employees were wearing face coverings below the nose

 

The Stead Food and Liquor citation was issued after officials observed noncompliance with one or more requirements of general and industry-specific guidance and directives during both an initial observation and a follow up visit by division officials. The employer was provided a notice and a request for compliance during the first visit. Upon observation of ongoing noncompliance during a follow up visit, a formal investigation was opened with the employer. 

Citations were issued to Gilley’s Saloon and Viva El Taco Mexican Food after an investigation was initiated as a result of a referral filed with Nevada OSHA alleging workplace safety hazards.

Nevada OSHA has issued 39 citations since the face covering mandate went into effect and the compliance observation process began.

Initial Observations

Since observations began in late-June to determine compliance with mandated health and safety measures under the Governor’s Declaration of Emergency Directive 024 and Nevada OSHA’s Guidance for Roadmap to Recovery, DIR officials have conducted 8,148 initial visits at business establishments finding a cumulative 88.5 percent statewide compliance rate, a 90 percent compliance rate in northern Nevada and 87 percent compliance in southern Nevada.

During the week beginning September 14, officials conducted 408 initial visits across the state at a wide range of business sectors finding an 88 percent compliance rate statewide.

Cities with compliance rates below the statewide average of 88 percent last week include:

  • Fallon- 65 percent
  • Las Vegas- 74 percent
  • Reno- 86 percent

Henderson and Winnemucca each had a 100 percent initial observed compliance last week.

Initial compliance rates for business sectors across the state (where 20 or more observations were conducted) during the week beginning September 14 include:

  • Other- 67 percent
  • General Retail- 88 percent
  • Hair/ Nail/ Tattoo Salons- 86 percent
  • Automobile Sales/ Service- 90 percent
  • Medical- 90 percent
  • Financial Institutions- 91 percent
  • Restaurants- 94 percent

Follow Up Observations

Since observations to determine compliance with mandated health and safety measures began, DIR officials have conducted 1,444 follow up visits finding a 96 percent statewide compliance rate with a 97 percent compliance rate in northern Nevada, and 94 percent in the south.

During the week beginning September 14, officials conducted 114 follow up visits finding a 98 percent statewide compliance rate with a 98 percent compliance rate in northern Nevada, and 100 percent in the south.

Complaints

In addition to the field observation process, Nevada OSHA continues to respond to complaints and referrals regarding face coverings, social distancing, cleaning and disinfection, and other areas of concern related to COVID-19 received by their offices. Of the 3,766 complaints received, 27 percent of the complaints concern general retail followed by 17 percent for restaurants and bars, and 7 percent about medical facilities. 

Workplace health and safety complaints can be reported to the Division by filing an online complaint at https://www.osha.gov/pls/osha7/eComplaintForm.html.

Important Information for Employers

Employers should note that an updated version of Nevada OSHA’s Guidance for Businesses Operating in Phase 2 of Nevada United: Roadmap to Recovery Plan was published on July 29 and can be found at http://dir.nv.gov. The updated document states that Nevada OSHA does not recognize face shields as an alternative to or as an effective “face covering” as required by section 4 of Nevada Declaration of Emergency Directive 024. The face covering must effectively control the breathing zone and restrain any expelled or exhaled water droplets within the covering. Industry-specific guidance and links to all of the Emergency Directives can be found at http://NVHealthResponse.nv.gov.

The Division’s Safety Consultation and Training Section (SCATS) also offers free consultations to businesses to help them understand and implement the requirements in order to comply with the health and safety guidance and directives for all businesses, and specific requirements for each industry. SCATS can be reached by calling 1-877-4SAFENV.

About the Division of Industrial Relations:

The Nevada Division of Industrial Relations (DIR) is the principal regulatory agency responsible for workplace safety and worker protections in the state of Nevada.  Comprised of five sections –Occupational Safety and Health Administration, Workers’ Compensation Section, Mechanical Compliance Section, Mine Safety and Training Section, and the Safety Consultation and Training Section – DIR works to protect Nevada’s working men and women and provides a broad scope of training and support to the regulated community.  For more information please visit http://dir.nv.gov.

About Nevada OSHA:

Nevada OSHA operates as an approved state program as defined by section 18 of the Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970 and is required by the Act to operate in a manner that is at least as effective as the federal OSHA enforcement program.  Operating out of district offices in Las Vegas and Reno, Nevada OSHA conducts inspections and investigations intended to identify hazardous conditions which could harm Nevada’s workers and enforces state and federal laws protecting the state’s workers. From July 2018 to June 2019, Nevada OSHA conducted over 1,060 inspections, issuing an average of 1.4 serious violations per inspection. The Nevada State Plan, at the time of publication of this media release, is funded by a grant of $1,486,600 federal funds, which constitutes 50 percent of the State Plan budget. Fifty percent, or $1,486,600 of the State Plan budget, is financed through non-governmental sources. For more information visit http://dir.nv.gov/OSHA/home.

###