Carson City, NV - June 16, 2020
The Office of the Labor Commissioner reminds
Nevada employers that the minimum wage will increase effective July 1,
2020. Assembly Bill 456, passed by the
2019 Nevada Legislature, increases the minimum wage in increments of 75 cents annually
The State of Nevada has a two-tier minimum
wage system based on qualifying health benefits being offered to
employees. For the period covering July
1, 2020, through June 30, 2021, the minimum wage rate is $8.00 per hour if the
employee is offered qualifying health benefits, and $9.00 per hour if the
employee is not offered qualifying health benefits.
An increase in the minimum wage will also
increase the daily overtime rates for the same period beginning July 1, except
for those employees exempted from overtime requirements under NRS 608.018.
Nevada that earn more than one and one-half times the minimum wage for
both tiers - $12 per hour for those offered health benefits and $13.50 per hour
for those not offered health benefits- are eligible for overtime at one and one-half
times their regular rate of pay for over 40 hours of work in a week.
employees that earn less than the amounts listed above, in addition to
overtime pay after the traditional 40-hour week, Nevada law also provides for
overtime pay at one and one-half times an employee’s regular rate of pay for working
more than 8 hours in a 24-hour period.
The annual bulletins for minimum wage and
overtime can be found at http://labor.nv.gov.
About the Office of the Labor Commissioner
The Office of the Labor Commissioner, a
division of the Department of Business and Industry, strives to ensure that all
workers are treated fairly under the law by investigating complaints of
non-payment of wages, state minimum wage, overtime, and prevailing wage
disputes. The office also monitors youth employment standards, including work
hours and safe, non-hazardous working conditions.
# # #