Nevada Labor Commissioner Recovers $2.8M in Updaid Wages and Penalties for Employees in 2012


Contact

Teri Williams
Public Information Officer
(702) 486-0407
Carson City, NV - February 05, 2013

Nevada Labor Commissioner Thoran Towler today announced the total amount of unpaid wages recovered on behalf of Nevada employees in 2012.  During calendar year 2012, the office of the Labor Commissioner was able to deliver $2,857,195 in unpaid wages and penalties to workers throughout the state. 

 

“My staff deserves to be commended for their diligent efforts in recovering these unpaid wages on behalf of employees in Nevada,” said Nevada Labor Commissioner Thoran Towler. “Many of the individuals seeking our assistance rely on receiving every penny they earn in order to support their families and put food on the table.”

Wages are defined as the amount which an employer agrees to pay an employee for the time the employee has worked, including commissions and must be paid at least twice a month. If an employee is fired or layed off, wages and compensation earned and unpaid when discharged become payable immediately.  In accordance with another statute, the employer has three days to deliver final payment in cases of terminationIf the employee quits, wages and compensation must be paid no later than the regularly scheduled payday or within seven calendar days, whichever is earlier.

 

Employees that have not received earned wages are encouraged to first approach the employer and ask them for the unpaid wages that are owed. If they do not receive payment, they may file a complaint with the Office of the Labor Commissioner. 

 

A copy of the claim form may be obtained online at www.laborcommissioner.com or by visiting the Labor Commissioners’ offices in Las Vegas or Carson City. Employees are encouraged to submit all relevant documentation with their claim including proof of employment, check stubs, time records, contact information for the employer and any other information that might be beneficial to their claim.

 

Employees are not asked to provide a social security number during the claim process but are required to provide current contact information and photo identification. Individuals that wish to remain anonymous can submit a general employment complaint about an employer but will not be eligible to recover unpaid wages.

 

“We are here to help and will assist any worker in the state of Nevada that comes forward to seek our assistance.  Although we are not successful 100% of the time, in such instances as business closure or bankruptcy, it does not deter us from pursuing every valid claim,” said Towler.

 

Workers submitting claims are encouraged to be patient, respond to all requests for information from the Labor Commissioner’s office and advise them of any address or telephone number changes. 

 

 

About the Office of the Labor Commissioner

The Office of the Labor Commissioner is a division of the Department of Business and Industry. The Labor Commissioner strives to ensure that all workers are treated fairly under the law by investigating complaints of non-payment of wages, State minimum wage, overtime, and prevailing wage disputes. The office also monitors youth employment standards, including work hours and safe, non-hazardous working conditions.

 

 

###