Carson City, NV - October 29, 2015
The 2016 Open Enrollment officially begins on Sunday, November 1st through January 31, 2016. Open Enrollment is when consumers who are interested in obtaining subsidies or tax credits to help pay for health insurance can purchase a policy through Nevada Health Link. This is the third enrollment period since the Affordable Care Act was implemented.
Last week, the Division provided millennials with information on why they should consider purchasing a health insurance policy. This week’s message is information on the open enrollment process.
For 2016, there will be a total of 18 carriers offering approximately 650 health insurance plans for individuals and small employers on and off the Exchange. Of these 18 carriers, 4 of them will offer individual health insurance plans on the Exchange with 65 plans to choose from. Consumers can already view and compare all the health insurance plans, rates, and documents at http://healthrates.doi.nv.gov/Wizard.aspx
There are several ways to purchase a health insurance policy. Nevada Health Link, powered by Healthcare,gov is the online marketplace for consumers to purchase a health insurance policy. Nevada Health Link provides free assistance by licensed enrollment professionals. Also, insurance agents within the state can assist with enrolling consumers in a health insurance policy. Nevadans can also reach out directly to an insurance carrier for help purchasing a health insurance policy.
This year the Nevada Division of Insurance partnered with Nevada Health Link to kick off the 2016 Open Enrollment period. The Division’s life and health experts will be present during the kick off events in Reno and Las Vegas along with navigators and brokers to answer questions from consumers. The events will take place in the following locations on Sunday, November 1st:
• Las Vegas – 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.
College of Southern Nevada-Charleston Campus, Building D
6375 W. Charleston Blvd.
Las Vegas, NV 89146
• Reno – 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.
Boys & Girls Club
2680 E. 9th St.
Reno, NV 89512
The Division encourages every Nevadan to protect themselves and their family against a great financial burden from a health issue. Dealing with illness or injury is sufficient stress without adding a financial component into the mix. Additionally, the penalty for not having health insurance is increasing in 2016 to $695 for an individual and $2,085 for a family or 2.5 percent of your household income, whichever is greater.
About the Nevada Division of Insurance
The State of Nevada Division of Insurance, a Division of the Nevada Department of Business and Industry, protects the rights of Nevada consumers and regulates Nevada’s $11.9 billion insurance industry. The Division of Insurance has offices in Carson City and Las Vegas. In 2014, the Division investigated more than 2,800 consumer complaints and recovered nearly $4 million on behalf of consumers. For more information about the Division of Insurance, visit DOI.NV.GOV or download the Division’s smartphone app NDOI Connect today in the Apple App Store and Google Play.