Carson City, NV - December 06, 2017
The Open Enrollment period was cut in half this
year, but there is still enough time for consumers to purchase and enroll in a
health benefit plan, which meets all the Affordable Care Act (ACA)
requirements, to avoid having a gap in coverage next year.
There is good news for consumers who are subsidy
eligible as some qualified health plans may be much cheaper than the penalty
for not having health insurance. As always, the Division encourages consumers
to do some research to determine the best plan for themselves and their family
members. To find out if you qualify for a subsidy visit Nevada Health Link at https://www.nevadahealthlink.com
Consumers also need to be aware there are still
various health insurance companies offering health insurance plans on and off
the Exchange for 2018. It is important to know what kind of policy you are
buying to make sure it complies with the Affordable Care Act (ACA) and avoid
penalties. Policies such as short-term plans are legal in Nevada, but they are
not compliant with the ACA as they are intended to ’fill in gaps’ by only
offering temporary coverage with limited benefits and preexisting conditions
are typically excluded from coverage. Having such a policy may result in paying
a penalty unless you also purchase a qualified health plan.
“There are many websites out there trying to lure
consumers into purchasing a short-term plan while disguising them as ACA
compliant policies,” said Insurance Commissioner Barbara Richardson. “While it
is up to the consumer to decide if they would like to purchase such policies,
they just need to understand what they are purchasing.”
To dispel any rumors and to learn about what’s new
in health insurance and what options are available, consumers are encouraged to
visit the Division’s NV Insurance 101 website at http://insurance101.nv.gov/. Consumers
can also visit the Division’s Rate Wizard Tool at healthrates.doi.nv.gov to
see actual rates and plan information being offered on and off the Exchange.
Before you sign a contract verify that the insurance agent, agency or company
are licensed. To verify a license, consumers may visit the Division’s “Verify a License” tool.
Open Enrollment ends December 15, 2017.
About the Nevada Division of Insurance
The State of Nevada Division of Insurance, a
Division of the Nevada Department of Business and Industry, protects the rights
of Nevada consumers and regulates Nevada’s $14 billion insurance industry.
The Division of Insurance has offices in Carson
City and Las Vegas. In 2016, the Division investigated more than 3,200 consumer
complaints and recovered nearly $5 million on behalf of consumers. For more
information about the Division of Insurance, visit DOI.NV.GOV or download the
Division’s smartphone app NDOI Connect today in the Apple App Store and Google