Nevada’s minimum wage and daily overtime unchanged for 2019


Contact

Teri Williams
Public Information Officer
702-486-0407
Carson City, NV - March 29, 2019

On Monday, April 1, the Office of the Labor Commissioner will release annual bulletins for Nevada’s minimum wage and daily overtime requirements. The rates, which take effect July 1, 2019, will remain unchanged from 2018. The annual bulletins can be obtained from the Office of the Labor Commissioner’s website http://labor.nv.gov or by calling (702) 486-2650 in southern Nevada and (775) 684-1890 in northern Nevada.

The minimum wage for employees who are offered qualified health benefits from their employers will remain at $7.25 per hour and the minimum wage for employees who are not offered qualified health benefits will remain $8.25 per hour. 

The 2006 Minimum Wage Amendment to the Nevada Constitution requires an analysis of the minimum wage each year based on increases in the federal minimum wage or if greater, by the cumulative increase in the cost of living.  The cost of living increase cannot increase by more than 3 percent each year.  The increase in the federal minimum wage has been greater than any cost of living increase through the 2019 calculation period.

The rate for daily overtime will also remain the same because the minimum wage rate is not changing. Nevada is one of a few states with a daily overtime requirement for overtime pay from more than eight hours of work in a 24-hour period in addition to the requirement to pay overtime for more than 40 hours in a workweek.

Employees who are offered qualified health benefits from their employer and earn less than $10.875 per hour, and employees who are not offered qualified health benefits and who earn less than $12.375 per hourmust be paid overtime whenever they work more than eight hours in a 24-hour period, or more than 40 hours in a week.  Employees that are exempt from overtime under Nevada state law are not subject to these requirements.

The Office of the Labor Commissioner will continue to monitor legislation regarding the minimum wage during the 2019 Legislative Session.

About the Office of the Labor Commissioner

The Office of the Labor Commissioner is a division of the Department of Business and Industry. The Labor Commissioner strives to ensure that all workers are treated fairly under the law by investigating complaints of non-payment of wages, state minimum wage, overtime, and prevailing wage disputes. The office also monitors youth employment standards, including work hours and safe, non-hazardous working conditions.

# # #